The Coomalie Community Government Council is a Local Government Area in the Northern Territory, situated south of Darwin, Palmerston and Litchfield local government areas. The council governs an area of 1,500km² and has a estimated population of 1,295.

Coomalie Community Government Council was established on 7 December 1990, and its first elections were held in May 1991. On July 1, 2008, Coomalie Council became one of the 11 Shire councils in the territory, changed by the Northern Territory Government.
The council is divided up into six wards, which is governed by 6 councillors across the six wards:

  • Batchelor Township Ward (1)
  • Adelaide River Township Ward (1)
  • Batchelor Rural Ward (1)
  • Adelaide River Rural Ward (1)
  • Lake Bennett Ward (1) (Lake Bennett)
  • Coomalie/Tortilla Ward (1)


The Council area includes the localities of

    • Batchelor
    • Adelaide River

The boundary of this area extends from the Manton Dam in the north, to the town of Adelaide River in the south and east from the Adelaide River, to the Litchfield National Park in the west.


Meetings are scheduled for the 3rd Tuesday of every month.