The Coomalie Council was formed in 1991.

The area governed by Coomalie Council covers approximately 1,500 square kilometers. The boundary of this area extends from Manton Dam in the north, to Dorat Road south of Adelaide River and east from the actual Adelaide River, to Litchfield National Park in the west.


The community government area is made up of the following Wards:-

  • the Batchelor Township ward;
  • the Adelaide River ward;
  • the Coomalie Rural ward

Members of Council

The Council consists of 6 members, comprising of 2 members representing the Batchelor Township Ward, 2 members representing the Adelaide River Ward and 2 members representing the Coomalie Rural Ward.

The term of office of a member expires on the Saturday immediately after the next election day. 

President and Vice-President of Council

The Council has a President and a Vice-President, who are elected by the members at their first meeting after an election and whenever else it may be necessary.

Meetings of Council

The Council must hold a meeting at least once a month. The date and time of a Council meeting are decided either at a previous meeting, by the clerk or by the Minister for Local Government.

Meetings to be Open

Meetings of the Council are open to the public unless the council determines that a meeting, or part of a meeting, is to be closed.

Procedure at Meetings of Council

Meetings of the Council are presided over by the President, or in his absence, the Vice-President. If both of them are absent, a member chosen by the other members will Chair the meeting.


The Council can perform the following functions:-

  • the establishment and maintenance of parks, gardens and recreational areas and carrying out landscaping and other associated works;
  • the establishment and maintenance (alone or in association with any other body) of sports facilities, community halls, public toilets, ablution blocks and any other public facilities;
  • the provision of a service for the collection and disposal of garbage, the establishment and maintenance of garbage dumps, and the control of litter generally;
  • the removal of health hazards;
  • the provision of  vocational and other training;
  • the promotion and provision of community welfare and care facilities for all age groups within the community government area and the provision of appropriately trained staff to provide counselling or temporary assistance;
  • the development and maintenance of cemeteries;
  • the control,  prohibition or impounding of animals;
  • the development and maintenance of roads within the community government area (including the provision of street lighting and traffic control devices) and, for reward, the development and maintenance of roads outside the community government area;
  • the hiring out, for reward, of any plant, appliance or equipment belonging to the Council and the repair and maintenance, for reward, of any plant, appliance or equipment not owned by the Council;
  • the contracting of works projects within or without the community government area; and
  • the facilitation of the establishment within the community government area of private commercial enterprises.


In addition to the powers delegated through the Local Government Act, and in particular, Council's power to make by-laws, it has the authority to do all things necessary or convenient to perform its functions.

All land within the community government area is rateable, except for the land declared not rateable under the Local Government Act, and the council may levy rates in relation to it for the purpose of raising revenue to perform its functions.